2007-S PR70 ANACS DCAM Thomas Jefferson (#20-2007-DA115)

First introduce by the United States Mint in 2007, the Presidential Dollar Coin Program honors our Nation's Presidents with a $1 coin featuring their images in the order that they served in office. The Thomas Jefferson Presidential Dollar was the third issue in the first year of the series. Dubbed by many as the 'Architect of U.S. Democracy,' Thomas Jefferson authored the Declaration of Independence and founded the University of Virginia. During his first term as President, Jefferson nearly doubled the size of the United States with the Louisiana Purchase.

The obverse features a portrait of America's third President and was designed by Mint sculptor Joseph Menna. Below the image of Jefferson are the inscription '3rd PRESIDENT' and the years of his presidential terms '1801-1809.'

Each Presidential Dollar Coin shares a common reverse design. Created by Don Everhart, the design features a striking rendition of the Statue of Liberty. The word 'Liberty' does not appear on the Presidential Dollar Coins, as it does on all other circulating U.S. coins, choosing instead to rely on the image of the Statue of Liberty to represent this eminent value.

A unique element of early Presidential Dollar Coins was the use of incuse inscriptions along the edge that read 'E PLURIBUS UNUM' and 'IN GOD WE TRUST.' In 2009, the inscription 'IN GOD WE TRUST' was moved from the edge to the obverse of the coin.

Proof coins like these are produced using specially treated dies and have an immediately recognizable mirror-like finish. Graded PR70 by ANACS, one of the world's leading coin grading services, the Jefferson Presidential Dollar proof coins exhibit a deep cameo appearance and make a wonderful addition to any collection. Order yours today.

Weight: 8.1 g
Diameter: 26.5 mm
Thickness: 2 mm
Composition: 88.5% Copper; 6% Zinc; 3.5% Manganese; 2% Nickel